I’ll Put On My Shoes While I’m Walking Slowly Down the Hall of Fame

The official website of the National Baseball Hall of Fame lists the rules for the Baseball Writers Association of America’s annual Hall of Fame election.  Rule number five is stated as follows:

“5. Voting: Voting shall be based upon the player’s record, playing ability, integrity, sportsmanship, character, and contributions to the team(s) on which the player played.”

With that in mind, here is who I would have voted for (you’re allowed to check up to 10 names on the ballot): Craig Biggio, Jeff Bagwell, Jack Morris, and Mike Piazza.

I’d vote for PIazza begrudgingly; I never liked the guy, but that was probably based more on who he played for than anything about him.  I can’t deny that he was possibly the best offensive catcher of all-time.  All four of those guys are Hall of Famers to me.

Not on the list?  Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens.  Of course, looking at the results, nearly two-thirds of voters felt the same way.  But while we know how they voted, we don’t know why they voted how they did.

My stance is based on the words “integrity” and “character.”  Because of what’s happened with their cases, we’ve seen the character that Bonds and Clemens have shown, and frankly, I don’t like it.

Of course, you can make the argument that since they never tested positive for performance-enhancing drugs and never admitted to using them, how can we say with certainty that they used?  That’s a fair argument.  Who am I to decide that?  Ultimately, no one.  However, there’s a reason why the clouds of suspicion are thicker around them than their contemporaries.

You can also make the argument that they were Hall of Famers before they started using PEDs.  My response to that is this: how can you separate the two periods?  How do you know when they started using?  And you’re electing a person in their entirety; the plaque doesn’t say “BARRY BONDS (BUT ONLY UNTIL 1998).”  To me, that argument holds absolutely no water.

A brief word on Tim Raines: sure, his accomplishments probably are good enough to be in the Hall.  But he also told a grand jury that he snorted cocaine during games and slid headfirst so he wouldn’t break his coke vial.  That shows a lack of integrity and character as well.  And if I’m on an elevated horse with my hypothetical vote, well…sorry, Rock.

Is it a “sad day for baseball,” as some have said?  I don’t know.  I think when your all-time home run leader is convicted for obstruction of justice in regards to whether or not he used performance-enhancing drugs, it’s much sadder.  In fact, it might have been a good day; now we have a baseline, and can move forward in future elections.

One last thing: I hate the idea of a “first-ballot” Hall of Famer.  Either you’re a Hall of Famer or you’re not.  Don’t vote for a guy in his second year but not his first simply because “he didn’t deserve to go in on the first ballot.”  That’s awful.

::puts away soapbox::

Leave a comment