Get Your Motor Running

Have I ranted recently about crap I see on the road?  I have?  Good.  Here I go again.

UNPOPULAR OPINION ALERT: I can’t stand motorcycles.  People on those big “hogs,” just by the posture they have to use to stay in the seat, look like they’re monarchs sitting on a throne.  No you’re not; you’re sitting on a potential fireball.  People on the faster “crotch-rocket” types don’t seem to understand that the traffic laws still apply to them.  Going way too fast and riding on the shoulder tick me off, but most of all, it’s when I’m stuck in traffic and that traffic isn’t moving, but the guy on the motorcycle who looks like he just got back from the X-Games decides he’s too cool to wait, so he goes between the other cars, between lanes, to get closer to the front of the stopped traffic.  I have two words for that guy, and they aren’t “happy birthday.”

Actually, that’s not the worst.  The worst is what I found this morning.  I arrived to work later than usual; I made a couple pit stops in the morning because I won’t have time after work.  This usually means that the number of available parking spots is reduced.  However, today was my lucky day, as I spotted an open space pretty close to the door.

Unfortunately, as I pulled up, I saw that someone had parked a very small motorcycle in the space.  NO.  CARS ONLY.

I know, I know, they’re legal, so they have to park somewhere, and I really don’t have any better ideas.  I just think it’s kind of crappy that I can’t park in a spot because someone else has decided to use like eight percent of it.  Maybe we cordon off one full spot and convert it into three motorcycle spots, and if they’re all taken, oh well, walk it up to the bike rack or something.

I say ban them.  Ban them all.

1 thought on “Get Your Motor Running

  1. ddunnjr

    Thats a unique position you’ve taken. I ride a motorcycle every day of the year and I have to say, I agree with some of what you’ve said. I think the bar to entry is set far too low for new riders. In fact, I think young riders shouldn’t be allowed to purchase “crotch rockets” without completing some type of rider education course. There is just too much power for someone without much skill.

    In terms of lane splitting, the cutting between rows of traffic, I have to disagree. Think about if that rider was at the back of the lane of traffic and a driver who wasn’t paying attention plowed into them from behind. By scooting to the front of the lane, they have now reduced the chances of being injured or killed. Also, a motorcyclist splitting lanes actually reduces your commute time. If they didn’t split lanes there would be yet another car ahead of you. If you’re interested in watching a quick video with some statistics about lane splitting in California, check this out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JNGD9AAIfFU

    As for parking, designated parking spots is a great idea. A cluster of motorcycles in a specific area allows for cars to have first dibs on the full sized spots. A cluster of motorcycles is also easier to see than one by itself and the chances of getting knocked over are reduced.

    Anyway, I enjoyed reading your post. Its always nice to hear the perspective of someone who shares a completely different opinion than my own!

    Reply

Leave a comment