No Keys, Push to Start

Whatever happened to the good old-fashioned car key?  There are cars now that just require a key fob (with an implanted chip) to be somewhere in the vicinity of the car and then the push of a button to start the ignition.

Um, what?

Like, why do we need this?  Are we really that lazy?  “Oh, this turning of the wrist is soooo exhausting!”  What gives?

I know these things aren’t new, but I saw one recently and was just…I don’t even know.  I’m totally satisfied with my key, except when I can’t take it out of the ignition (which you might think is an argument in favor of a push-button, but in reality it served to tell me that my car wasn’t completely in “park” yet).

And there are ignition keys that aren’t even traditional metal thingamabobs anymore.  My parents had a car recently where the key was this oblong piece of plastic that had something on the end that resembled a cube, and that was what went into the ignition.  Like…really?

I don’t get it.  I will never buy a car that starts with a button or a cube-ular plastic extension.  Until, of course, there are no other options.  But I won’t be happy about it!

Leave a comment